Sharon L. Daniel attended Oklahoma State where she received a Bachelor of Science in Mathematics in 1965, as well as a Master of Science in Secondary Education in 1966. In 1967, she was one of only 18 women to be hired at Sandia Lab, where she played a significant role mentoring women in research and professional positions throughout her career. She resides in Albuquerque, New Mexico. The Sharon L. Daniel Scholarship supports women majoring in Mathematics and Computer Science.

 Award Winners:
2020 Jaiden Hughes
2019 Taylor Chapman
2018 Madison Martin
2017 Natalie Allsup
Mary Catlett
Abby Harris
2015 Laura Brown
Jeanine Gibson
Jessika Matthews
Jeanine Gibson
Lisa Patrick
Beverly Brown
Amber Chilson
Anna Gunther
Nina Williams