Dr. John Jobe received his Ph.D. from the OSU Math Department in 1966 and began his career and outstanding service to the department until his retirement in 1994. A very dedicated professional, Dr. Jobe served as the Math Graduate Program Director from 1982-1987 and Chair of the OSU Faculty Council from 1979-1980. He was also very active in the MAA, having served as Governor for the Oklahoma-Arkansas section from 1975-1978 and Secretary-Treasurer from 1978-1991. Dr. Jobe was known both on and off-campus for his energy and commitment to students, having directed numerous Master's and Doctoral students in their thesis work.

Mrs. Caryl Jobe, an educator of equal energy and commitment, has been credited by former students as the teacher who was most responsible for their success. Mrs. Jobe was recognized for her teaching excellence both locally and from the state, including receiving the prestigious Presidential Distinguished Teacher award in 1991. Mrs. Jobe retired from teaching 5th grade at Westwood Elementary School in Stillwater, Oklahoma in 1993; both she and Dr. Jobe continue to display their dedication to teaching and academic scholarship through their educational outreach efforts.

The Jobe Fellowship is awarded to an outstanding mathematics student to help fund his/her first year of graduate study in mathematics at OSU. The Fellowship helps the department offer competitive packages to prospective math graduate students, assisting in recruiting top applicants in all areas of mathematics and mathematics education. Jobe Fellowship awardees have gone on to successful careers in both academia and industry.

Award Winners: 
2017 William Davis                     Trevor Fancher
Zachery Ayers
Andreas Giannopolous
Scott Hader
Nafiseh Jahanbakht
Jonathan McCormick
Chase Meadors
Courtney Simmons
Eric Towers
Rosaura Uscanga
Nina Williams
Mingming Zhang
Hailey Bodiford
Phillip Doehle
Rachael Wood
Rosaura Uscanga
Aaron Yeager
Heather Ranney
Zachary Sorenson
Mykhailo Bilogliadov
Nicole Gaswick
Oleksandr Tovstolis
Scott Larson
Marcus Mace
2009 Krystin Steelman
2008 Heather Stauffer
2006 Kenneth Ward
2005 Ashley Bennett
Jennifer Richardson
Matthew Thiessen
Jennifer Bower
Timothy Pierce
2002 Kyle Wichert
2000 Charles Ratliff
1997 Teodora Donevska

Back to Graduate Awards